NMSF Commission
Facebook Twitter Instagram
Home > General Info > NMSF Commission

NMSF Commission


The New Mexico State Fair Commission is currently comprised of the following members:

Eric Serna – (Chairman)
Mr. Serna is an attorney specializing in insurance and corporate law, who also served as the Chairman for the New Mexico Corporation Commission for 14 years. He also served as New Mexico Superintendent of Insurance for 5 years, as well as the Secretary/Treasurer of the National Association of Insurance Commissioners. Following this, Mr. Serna was a presidential appointee to the United States Department of Agriculture, whose jurisdiction reached the entire southwest United States.

Benny Roybal – (Secretary-Treasurer)
Mr. Roybal is from Española, where he currently lives, ranches and farms. He served on the New Mexico State Fair Commission as a member and Vice Chairman from 2006 to 2011, and also served as Chairman of the Associated Contractors of New Mexico, the National Roadside Association and State Employee Credit Union where he also served as a board member.

Dr. Carol Cloer –
Dr. Cloer has an extensive background in education, becoming a teacher soon after acquiring a Bachelor’s Degree in Education in 1969. Since then, Dr. Cloer has served in many political capacities including as a State Delegate to the National Presidential Conventions, County Democratic Vice Chairwoman, State Democratic Party Treasurer, New Mexico State Police Commissioner, and member of both the Youth Advisory Council and Economic Advisory Council. Dr. Cloer served on the New Mexico State Fair Commission as Chairwoman in 2003.

Larry Chavez Sr. –
Mr. Chavez is owner and CEO of Dreamstyle Remodeling, and has substantial
entrepreneurial and business knowledge. He is a current mentor for the Stanford Graduate School of
Business Latino Entrepreneurial Program, and is a current member of Harvard University’s Joint Center
for Housing Steering Committee. Mr. Chavez has served on the New Mexico Board of Educational
Finance, the City of Albuquerque’s Environmental Planning Commission, and Animal Humane New
Mexico’s Board.
Back to